Happy Place

beach-water-sky-blog

I have a happy place. A place where I can relax and recharge and my kids can too.

I have found over the years that ignoring my inner voice when it says I need a break is a bad idea. Anxiety, shortness and unhappy parenting are the result of that voice. Sometimes, it is impossible to get away, and be alone.

My kids need me, my husband needs me, my friends need me and I can’t just hide in bed for three day and recharge my introvert batteries.

That’s where my happy place saves me. The beach is a place I love to go. My kids will dig and play in the surf ALL day, rarely needing anything from me. I can sit back and watch them, or play in the surf myself.

If I go with friends then I can catch up on some great Mom chatting while our kids play.

I pack each child a sack lunch and a waterborne and tell them they can eat whenever they want. I do try and get them to put on sunscreen and drink water but that’s pretty low key.

The sand and the surf have a calming effect on my mind. The sun recharges my mood. I’m always tired after a day at the beach, but the drive is worth it.

Where is your happy place? How do you recharge?

Leave a Reply

