Raspberry Syrup

food-lunch-kitchen-eat.jpg

I don’t know if you heard in your neck of the woods but IHOP had its anniversary on Tuesday with $.58  pancakes. I wasn’t in the mood to take my kids out for breakfast because we were recovering from our beach day and one of them came down with a stomach bug.

My sick child also happens to be the biggest fan of pancakes. I decided to see if I could make some really special ones for him when he was well again.

This morning he was feeling much better so I got to work.

Last summer I had carefully laid our last few cups of raspberries on cookie sheets and frozen the fragile red gems.

The plan was to put them in oatmeal all winter. That was the plan. Early in the fall one of our little people didn’t close the freezer door all the way. We caught it before any meat was affected but our raspberries were now one solid mass. They softened enough to stick together but not defrost.

Putting them in oatmeal was out since once defrosted they would only last a few days. I on my favorite blog for preserving small batches of fruit. Black Raspberry syrup came up and I was in!

raspberries-227976_640

Of course I had red raspberries but it worked out fine. I measured my berry mush + juice that was defrosted in the gallon zip lock bag and to my delight I had exactly 3 cups!

I poured it in the pot, added a cup of sugar, squeezed both halves of a lemon right into the pot and didn’t even worry about the seeds since I knew I’d be straining it all later.

I let it cook down with the splatter shield on top, stirring every couple of minutes while we made and ate lunch. Probably about 25 minutes.

I washed two jars with soap and rinsed them well, then poured the lovely dark red syrup in.

Wiped the rims and put the lids and rings on then plopped my first jar into the boiling water bath. I set the timer for 10 minutes and was walking away when I heard a muffled. Pop! Turning around I could see red foam beginning to boil over the top of my canning pot!

The jar had broken! Oh no. All that sweet pancake goodness gone! This only happen rarely when canning, and every time it does I have to remind myself that it is okay to be sad but not worth it to stew over it.

I don’t like wasting food, especially the homemade kind and raspberries are so precious!

I decided not to risk it, and put the second jar in the fridge. We will have pancakes tonight.

What is your favorite pancake topping?

 

Leave a Reply

